Interview with Adiba Jaigirdar, #Roaring20sdebut Author of THE HENNA WARS

Interview with Adiba Jaigirdar, #Roaring20sdebut Author of THE HENNA WARS

April 15 2020
The Henna Warsis about Nishat, who is a Bangladeshi Muslim lesbian. When she decides to come out to her parents, they react by shutting her out and rejecting her sexuality. She turns to henna, which is important to her because she learned it from her grandmother.
Rani's journey will speak to anyone who's ever had to fight to uphold their cultural identity--one stereotype at a time.

Rani's journey will speak to anyone who's ever had to fight to uphold their cultural identity--one stereotype at a time.

January 31 2020
Fans of Sandhya Menon, Erika Sanchez and Jandy Nelson will identify with this award-winning novel of a young artist’s forbidden, intercultural first love, her close-knit Indian family, and her boyfriend's desperate attempts to fit into it--no matter the cost.
Insider Secrets to Publishing Your First Novel

Insider Secrets to Publishing Your First Novel

January 31 2020
Hi Friends! I’m often asked details about my publication journey, and thought it might be helpful to share, for those of you curious or who may benefit from my mistakes—ahem—experiences. They might help you! Maybe?
The Good, the Bad, and the Scary: Taking Risks in Your Writing

The Good, the Bad, and the Scary: Taking Risks in Your Writing

December 23 2019
When I was in my teens and twenties, I was obsessed with bold, cutting-edge haircuts. Short, piecey, layered works of art that always required a lot of blow-drying, product, and maintenance. Never mind that these sassy cuts didn’t really suit my face or lifestyle.
Connecting with Jacqueline Woodson, Author of RED AT THE BONE

Connecting with Jacqueline Woodson, Author of RED AT THE BONE

November 6 2019
She had just turned twenty-five and was living on the Upper West Side in an apartment owned by the parents of some friend from Oberlin. A pied-a-terre they’d abandoned for full time life in Florida.
Society of Children’s Book Writer’s and Illustrators (SCBWI) Emerging Voices Award!

Society of Children’s Book Writer’s and Illustrators (SCBWI) Emerging Voices Award!

September 11 2019
Just before my birthday last year, I learned that my debut manuscript, AMERICAN BETIYA, had just won the national Society of Children’s Book Writer’s and Illustrators (SCBWI) Emerging Voices Award!
The Inspiration for AMERICAN BETIYA

The Inspiration for AMERICAN BETIYA

September 11 2019
Years ago, I set out to write the kind of story I’d wished for as a teen: one that detailed an interracial love in all its beauty and honest complications, one that featured an ambitious Indian American teenager and her first-generation immigrant family…one that would feel fierce and unvarnished. After some tinkering, self-doubt, and false starts, I wrote a short story whose title was simply “Beginnings.”